autism, faith, family, Morgan, Uncategorized

“Choose Life”

“…I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live.” Deuteronomy 30:19

A few years ago, I was in the hospital with a cut back, thanks to a large kidney stone.  Allison brought me a small rose bush.  I planted it in our rock garden, and although it’s had its struggles, it has managed to come back each year.

That rose bush has been tended to and “cut back” several times, and I thought it had seen it’s last Spring.  I have an affection for it, I guess, because I’ve felt pruned down to the ground myself at times.  That said, I now know sometimes a good pruning is our only chance for survival.  I cut it down to near nothing, and the rest was up to that little bush and its tenacity.  So sweet to see it bloom once again.

Pruned Rose

Since Morgan, our sweet “Blue Rose”, transitioned from school services this May, we have been vigilantly searching for new opportunities  for her to bloom.  Although there are struggles for individuals with disabilities who want to work and be engaged in their community, we choose to keep tending that garden, because we choose a life of quality for our daughter.

We’re thankful for our fellow gardeners.  One of Morgan’s jobs will be helping her Papaw deliver Meals on Wheels once a week.  She calls it “trick or treating” in reverse. 😉

Papw and Morgan Meals on Wheels

Until next time,

Know The Hope,

Tammy Vice

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

