Uncategorized

What To do, When You Don’t Know What To Do

“God grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, Courage to change the things I can, Wisdom to know the difference,”  And the Healthy Sense of Humor this life requires.  – Mom’s Serenity Prayer

For some reason, I guess a lot of reasons, this year’s winter break has hit me harder than most.  Gloomy, unseasonably warm weather, coupled with the realization that next year won’t be just another “winter break”, has set mom’s brain in the spin cycle.

In May of 2016, school (as we know it) will be forever out.    Morgan will be looking at me, asking “What’s next on the calendar?”  We are doing all we know to do to give her the opportunity and support she needs to continue being an active part of our community.

Morgan is not alone.  As young adults with developmental disabilities leave high school, they are looking for what’s next.  Programs like Best Buddies Jobs, and Putting Faith To Work are on the right track, opening doors to employment.

I am very thankful for our church family, and local organizations like Project 22 that offer social, recreational, and community engagement programs.

I do believe, with all my heart, that God has a Taylor-made plan and purpose for each of us.  I recite my mom version of the serenity prayer daily.  And just like Morgan does me, I showed God my calendar, and asked “What’s next?”  😉 A quote from Mr. Rogers came to mind, “Let’s think of something to do while we’re waiting.”  I’ve been wanting to learn to play a ukulele.  This was as good a time as any, so I went to the music store and found this one smiling back at me.

Until Next Time,

Know The Hope!

Tammy Vice

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “What To do, When You Don’t Know What To Do

Leave a Reply

